Inspiration

I laid out my reasons for leaving Christianity some time ago, but I thought it might be useful to list some authors who gave me food for thought or continue to inspire me and some blogs I follow.  It turned into a longer list that I anticipated but even so it seems to be incomplete.  I’ll let it go as it stands and post other blogs or books or whatever that I find interesting as I remember or run into them.

The original seed of doubt was nurtured by Robert Cialdini‘s Influence: The Psychology of Persuasion.  The book showed me that people don’t act rationally and that the church employs all of the methods of persuasion mentioned in the book.

Libby Anne at Love, Joy, Feminism is consistently thought-provoking.

Even though I didn’t discover Douglas Adams‘ novels, articles and lectures until after his death, I think his views are pretty timeless and find them enlightening and humorous.  I highly recommend The Salmon of Doubt, a posthumous publication of his work.

Although I no longer remember how I first ran into PZ Myers’ Pharyngula blog, it continues to be interesting as both an atheist and lover of science.

Robert G. Ingersoll‘s work is from little further back in time.  I think I ran onto his work from Pharyngula, but I can’t be certain.  You can find a collection of his work at Librivox or Project Gutenberg, both Volume 1 and Volume 2.

Although she is taking a break to from blogging at the moment, I find Kacy at The Ex-Convert to be a very interesting read.  She has so many posts that you can find insightful posts that still resonate even if they aren’t current.

Richard Dawkins and Christopher Hitchens are another two that I admire.  I read Dawkins for his science books and Hitchens for his writing style and unique take on things.

Roger Ebert recently passed away, but I started reading his movie reviews some time ago and then moved to his blog posts, which were always though-provoking.

Skepchick has daily links that are interesting for those who are fascinated by science or skepticism.

I find Zeno at Halfway There provides good reading as a math professor on a variety of topics.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

